RCGC tees off against NEGC on 13 August


The annual Burdett Trophy encounter (119th edition), one of the globe’s oldest golf tournaments, between the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) and the Nuwara-Eliya Golf Club (NEGC), will tee off on 13 August at the NEGC golf course in Nuwara Eliya. This event was started in 1902 between the two esteemed clubs and will be played as a one-day event with tee off at 7.00 a.m. 

The 85th Puffin Cup for Ladies will also be played on the same day. The Burdett Trophy has been played throughout the last 120 years, except during the two World Wars and adverse weather conditions. 

NEGC team is led by veteran golfer Sudath Kumara, while Saneth Gamage leads RCGC. The teams comprise 12 players each, who will play 4 foursome matches and 8 singles on the par 71 course which extends over 6,075 yards of challenging fairways. 

At present RCGC leads with 63 wins to NEGC 37. 

The Puffin Cup for Ladies began in 1936. Central Hills player Ahalya Rajan leads NEGC, while Anuk Chitty heads RCGC. The Puffin Cup is played as 4 foursome matches and 4 singles matches. 

Alongside these two tournaments, will be the Masters Golf tournament and 125th Anniversary competitions. In total 124 golfers will tee off for their respective teams. 

Principal sponsor of this major tournament is Apparel Technologies.

By Special Correspondent