Dickwella shines in Greens win


Niroshan Dickwella shone with the bat hammering an unbeaten 76 as SLC Greens beat SLC reds by 8 runs in the SLC Invitational T20 League encounter played at R. Premadasa stadium yesterday,  

Opening the inning for Greens, Dickwella smashed 76 off 56 with eight fours to guide Green to 161 for 6 at the end of 20 overs. Opening partner Pathum Nissanka, one drop Dinesh Chandimal and Nuwanidu Fernando lost their wickets cheaply, before Dickwella added 42 for the fourth wicket with skipper Dasun Shanaka (21) to stabilize the inning.

The opener had to play an anchor role and carry out his bat as his partners kept losing their wickets at the other end. The only other notable partnerships were 36 for the 7th wicket with Dhananjaya Lakshan (19) and 21 for the 8th wicket with Ramesh Mendis.

In reply, the top four Reds batters, Lasith Croospulle (31), Kusal Mendis (30), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (34) and Kamindu Mendis (24), all got starts but failed to convert them into a match winning score.

Openers Croospulle and Kusal Mendis added 61 for the first wicket in 53 deliveries before both of them were sent back within a span of seven deliveries. Then Rajapaksa and Kamindu Mendis added 58 for the third wicket, but once again, both of them were sent back within a span of six deliveries. Reds could not recover from that setback despite Sahan Arachchige smashing 19 off 8 with four fours at number 7, and they ended up scoring 153 for 5.  

SLC Greens: 161-6 (20.0) (Niroshan Dickwella 76*, Dasun Shanaka 21, Asitha Fernando 2-32)

SLC Reds: 153-5 (Lasith Croospulle 31, Kusal Mendis 30, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 34, Kamindu Mendis 24)