St. Peter’s clinch Rev. Fr Peter. A. Pillai Memorial Trophy  


Skipper Wanuja Kumara steered St. Peter’s to a 26-run win over St. Joseph’s in their 48th one day encounter to regain the Rev. Fr Peter. A. Pillai Memorial Trophy at the SSC on Saturday.

St. Joseph’s won the toss and elected to field. St. Peter’s scored 245 runs for 8 wickets in 50 overs. Youth cap Wanuja Sahan Kumara, left hander, scored a valuable unbeaten 102 runs in 111 deliveries with 12 boundaries. Danal Hemananda, another youth cap, teamed up with Wanuja and the duo were involved in an unbroken 174 runs stand for the 7th wicket. Danal scored 81* in 106 balls with 3 boundaries and 3 sixes. Muditha Lakshan claimed 3 for 43 and Deshan Senevirathne 2 for 45.

St. Joseph’s were restricted to 219 runs for 9 wickets in their 50 overs. Youth cap opener Sadeesha Jayawardane and skipper Shevon Daniel, another youth cap, were involved in a stand of 147 runs for the 2nd wicket. Shevon scored 91 runs in 94 balls with 5 boundaries and 4 sixes, while Sadeesha scored 61 runs in 112 deliveries with a boundary. Shenon Rodrigo and Niman Umesh claimed 3 wickets each. Wanuja Sahan Kumara claimed 2 wickets.

St. Peter’s: 245/8 (50) (Wanuja Sahan Kumara 102*, Danal Hemananda 81*, Shenal Boteju 34, Muditha Lakshan 3/43, Deshan Senevirathne 2/45)

St. Joseph’s: 219/9 (50) (Shevon Daniel 91, Sadeesha Jayawardena 61, Dunith Wellalage 28*, Niman Umesh 3/34)