Sri Lanka hosts Group IV Asia/Oceania Davis Cup


Sri Lanka will once again host the 2022 edition of the Asia/Oceania Davis Cup by Rakuten Group IV Event A from 8-13 August at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association Clay Courts. The group comprises 20 teams divided into two groups of 10. While Event A takes place here, Event B takes place in Bahrain from 17-22 October.

Out of the original 10 teams – Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Yemen and hosts Sri Lanka – three teams withdrew from the event (Macau, Oman, and Qatar). The balance 7 teams will be in two groups (one of four teams and one of three teams) with the nation finishing top of each group to play-off for promotion to the Asia/Oceania Group Ill.

Team Sri Lanka will field two highly experienced players and three young guns, presenting a well-rounded team for the upcoming tie.

Harshana Godamanna, Yasitha de Silva, Thehan Wijemanne, Chathurya Nilaweera, and Ashen Silva, while Udith Wickramasinghe is the Non-Playing Captain.

Sri Lanka is currently ranked 106 in the world with 54.75 points. In the history of the Davis Cup, Sri Lanka has reached the second round of the Asia/Oceania Zone Il on 5 occasions, in 1995 and between 1989-1992. Harshana Godamanna stands as the most decorated player in the Davis Cup, with a career spanning two decades since 2002. Yasitha de Silva is a seasoned player who has been representing Sri Lanka since 2016.

Thehan Wijemanne (3rd appearance) and Chathurya Nilaweera (2nd appearance) are both former Junior Davis Cup players, while Ashen Silva will be making his debut appearance.

Non-Playing Captain Udith Wickramasinghe is a former national player and Coach Renouk Wijemanne is a past national champion and a former Davis Cup player himself.

 Team Manager, Cmdr Pradeep Karunatilake from Sri Lanka Navy, is also a Vice President of the Sri Lanka Tennis Association.

 IF referee for the event will be Abhishek Mukherjee (Silver Badge) from India and

Assistant Referee will be Dharaka Ellawala (Silver Badge) from Sri Lanka, along with six chair umpires headed by Lena Nageshkar (White Badge) from India assisted by Mufadal Hazari (White Badge) from Sri Lanka. They will be heading a total of 26 Line Umpires and 26 Ball Kids who will be part of the officiating team.

President of SLTA Iqbal Bin Issack, along with the General Committee, have made a tremendous effort to host this year’s tournament under unusual circumstances, with the biggest economic crisis the nation has seen.

“With the country’s situation, it was indeed very challenging to organize a tournament of this scale. However, through all these challenges, we are happy to organize and are looking forward for a great tournament ahead”. Bin Issack stated.

Matches will commence with an opening ceremony on Monday, 8 August at 9.40 p.m. at the SLTA premises.

Official Sponsors of the event are LICC Jeans and SL Convention Bureau.