New Parliamentary committees this week


All parliamentary committees, including the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) and the Committee on Public Accounts (COPA), which were dissolved at the end of the Parliament session, will be formed this week.

With the President’s prorogation of Parliament on 28 July, nearly 70 parliamentary committees were terminated.

Parliament will meet tomorrow (9) and the Parliament Select Committee will be appointed, according to Parliament Secretary General Dhammika Dasanayake.

The Parliamentary Committee on High Posts, Parliamentary Sectoral Oversight Committees, and Parliamentary Special Committees are the only committees that have not been abolished with the end of the Parliamentary term.

However, even if the remaining committees are dissolved, the investigations and other activities conducted by them thus far can be continued, according to officials.

BY Anuradha Herath and Sanduni Gamaarachchi