All but one party consent to APG


All political parties in Parliament, except one, had given their consent for measures considered by the President to form an All-Party Government (APG), Ceylon Today reliably learns.

During the past week most of the political party representatives held talks with the President on ways and means of establishing an All-Party Government.

Of the 15 political parties in the present Parliament 14 had given their consent to the creation of an All-Party Government.

But, the Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB), headed by MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake, had conveyed to the President their decision to not support such an endeavour.

Among the prominent political parties and MPs that had conveyed their readiness to form an All-Party Government were: the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), Illankai Tamil Arasu Katchi (ITAK), All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC), the 11-member independent group of MPs from the SLPP and Sri Lanka Muslim Congress.

The President’s discussions on forming an All-Party Government are to conclude next week, Ceylon Today learns.

Highly placed political sources said that a Cabinet will be formed with 30 ministerial portfolios. Meanwhile, Wickremesinghe has pledged to provide compensations to the MPs whose houses came under attack on 9 May.

By Amith Gamage