Maris Stella champs for 2nd consecutive year


  Unbeaten Maris Stella College Thimbirigaskatuwa emerged champion for the second consecutive year when they beat Ananda National School Puttalam by 9 wickets in the final of the Under-19 Division Three Tier ‘B’ Inter Schools Limited Overs Cricket tournament at St. Joseph’s College ground Colombo recently.

 The tournament was conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA) and sponsored by Sri Lanka Cricket.

 Maris Stella won the toss and elected to field. Ananda NS were bowled out for 78 runs in 26.4 overs. Imindu Perera top scored with 19 runs. Prabashana Silva, left arm orthodox, claimed 6 wickets for 9 runs, while Savindu Perera claimed 2 wickets for 29 runs.

 Maris Stella scored 79 runs for 1 wicket in 15.2 overs, with Eshan Fernando unbeaten on 29 and Suwahas Yapa unbeaten on 26 runs.

 Rev. Bro. Shanthi Liyanage, Principal of Maris Stella, Y. Nishantha Kumara, Under-19 Tournament Secretary of SLSCA and Pushpa Kumari Ekanayake participated at the awards ceremony.

At Darley Road (Maris Stella won by 9 wickets)

Ananda NS: 78 (26.4) (Imindu Perera 19, Pasindu Diwanka 10, Steven Ruvintha 10, Prabashana Silva 6/9, Savindu Perera 2/29)

Maris Stella: 79/1 (15.2) (Eshan Fernando 29*, Suwahas Yapa 26*)