Sadeera, bowlers help Tamil Union defend title


Sadeera Samarawickrama and bowlers guided Tamil Union to a comfortable 7 wicket (D/L) win over Army in the final of the SLC Major Club Limited over tournament played at SSC yesterday.

Batting first, Army were bowled out for a below par total of 198 runs in 49.5 overs. In reply Tamil Union achieved the target with 34 balls to spare.

Army lost the plot from the get go and were seen struggling from the very beginning. None of their batters impressed apart from Asela Gunarathne, who top scored with a fighting 59 runs of 88 deliveries including 4 boundaries, while wicketkeeper batter Mahesh Kumara chipped in with 57 runs from down the order to help his team post a somewhat fighting total.

Santhush Gunathilake and Isuru Udana were the pick of the bowlers sharing three wickets each, while Shiran Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Dilruwan Perera and Navod Paranavithana shared a wicket each.

Tamil Union were given a revised target of 153 runs in 37 overs as there were two rain interruptions. They were off to a positive start in the chase, with Dilruwan Perera and Ron Chandraguptha adding 41 run partnership for the first wicket.

Asanka Manoj got the breakthrough when he caught Chandraguptha plumb in front for 13 runs. After the breakthrough, Army were once again up to the task with a brilliant run out to send in form batter Dilruwan (37) back to the pavilion.

With the scoreboard reading 82-2, Sadeera Samarawickrama along with Navod Paranavithana engaged in a 65 run partnership for the third wicket, with national team discard Sadeera being the hero with a fighting unbeaten 58 runs off 70 deliveries including 4 boundaries.

He was well supported by Navod, who scored 32 off 39 balls until Asanka Manoj once again got the breakthrough to send back Navod in the 31st over.

However, Tamil Union ensured no further hiccups as they achieved the target with 34 balls to spare.

Asanka Manoj was the only bowler to shine for Army with figures of 2-27.

Brief scores:

Army: 198 all out (49.5) (Asela Gunarathne 59, Mahesh Kumara 57, Santhush Gunathilake 3-14, Isuru Udana 3-31) 

Tamil Union: 153-3 (31.2) (Sadeera Samarawickrama 58*, Dilruwan Perera 37, Navod Paranavithana 32, Asanka Manoj 2-27)    

By Mustaq Sydeen