TFAB HOLDS 25th AGM FOR 2022/2023


The Trade Finance Association of Bankers (TFAB) recently held its 25th Annual General Meeting at the Grand Oriental Hotel, Colombo. This year is significant as TFAB celebrates its Silver Jubilee, a spokesman said.

TFAB was formed in 1997, is the professional association bringing together bankers engaged in providing advice on trade finance solutions to its customer base. It has also been actively engaged in continuous professional development of its membership through conducting seminars, lectures, discussions, workshops, trade educational tours, and newsletters etc., on a wide range of topics relating to International Trade. These programmes are conducted using the expertise of Senior bankers who have mastered the subject in our local and international banks and other senior resource persons drawn from various trade related stakeholders. The premium event of TFAB is the Interbank Trade Finance Quiz and fellowship which promotes Trade knowledge and networking among its members, he added.

TFAB provides an environment for Trade Practitioners representing all banks to facilitate the exchange of views relating to trade, promote consistency in Trade Finance practices and to create the required skill set in the industry in supporting Trade. The Membership comprises personnel from almost all commercial banks operating in Sri Lanka and the office-bearers reflect the diversity and breadth of its membership. The Association is backed by an eminent Advisory Committee comprising of four senior bankers and past TFAB Presidents:
A. Kathiravelupillai (Inaugural President of TFAB and Former DGM -International of Bank of Ceylon), Michael Peiris (Former Head of Trade of Union Bank of Colombo PLC), Nilam Jumat (Former AGM – International of Hatton National Bank PLC), and Thushy David (Former Director, Head Global Subsidiary Coverage, Head of Trade and Cash Management Sales of Deutsche Bank).  

The following members were elected office-bearers of TFAB for 2022/2023:

President – Lawrian Somanader – Chief Manager, Exports, Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC, Senior Vice President – Rochelle Fernando – Assistant General Manager – Trade Services – Bank of Ceylon,Vice President – Shyam De Silva – Senior Manager Operations, Centralized Trade Processing – Hatton National Bank PLC, Secretary General – K.R. Naguleswaran – Assistant Vice President, Correspondent Banking and Remittances – DFCC Bank PLC, Treasurer – Kasun Muthukuda – Manager, Trade Services – Nations Trust Bank PLC , Assistant Secretary – Indika Liyanage – Senior Manager, Trade Services – Pan Asia Banking Corporation PLC, Assistant Treasurer – Kanchana De Silva – Senior Manager – Trade Operations – Union Bank of Colombo PLC. 

Council Members: Gaya Manamperi (Formerly at Sampath Bank PLC), Manjula Gunawardana (NDB Bank PLC), Susantha Weerasinghe (People’s Bank), Tharinda Amarasinghe (Sampath Bank PLC), Niranjan Dabare (Deutsche Bank AG), K. K Susantha (Bank of Ceylon), Halin Hettigoda (Sampath Bank PLC), Shaariz Zabith (The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited), Dilan Wijegoonawardhana (Seylan Bank PLC), Shehani Peter (Standard Chartered Bank), Eranda Weerakoon (Doha Bank), Harsha Silva (Citi Bank N.A.), Mahesha Hassan (Public Bank).

Immediate Past President: A. S. M. W. Kumarasiri (Assistant General Manager, Trade Finance, People’s Bank).