Sri Lanka fields open and women’s teams


The 44th Chess Olympiad organized by The International Chess Federation will be held in Chennai from 28 July to 10 August. It is a classic worldwide event where the best national teams compete for their respective nations. The best national team will be crowned FIDE’s Team Champion. The event was originally scheduled to be held in Russia, but relocated to India.

The event commences with a glamorous opening ceremony in Chennai on 28 July with several big names from the political and sports fraternity gracing the event. A total of 11 matches will take place between 29 July and 9 August, with 4 August being a rest day. The matches on all days will begin at 3.00 p.m. IST. The players will each be given 90 minutes for the first 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move starting from move one.

188 teams in the open section and 162 teams in the Women’s section from all around the world will be competing head-to-head in this jaw dropping battle field.

This year’s Sri Lankan Chess stars that will be competing in this long-awaited tournament will be as follows:

A team will comprise of 4 players and one reserve for the open and women’s sections.

The match results of this tournament are decided by ‘game points.’ Each team gets two points per win, 1 point for a draw, and 0 points for a loss. The team with the most game points wins the match which will result in the respective team gaining two ‘match points’ per victory. The team with the most match points at the end of the tournament is declared the Olympiad Champion. 

The winner in the open section will receive the Hamilton-Russel cup, while the winner in the women’s section will receive the Vera Menchik Cup. The Federation also ranks a ‘combined classification’ based on the sum of their open and women’s placements, and first place in this category takes home the Nona Gaprindashvili Trophy. The players from the top three teams will also receive medals along with individual prizes. 

Open: IM L.M.S.T. de Silva, FM Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage, FM Isuru Alahakoon, K.G.T.S.D. Kiriella, Nabil Nazar Mohamed

Women’s: WIM Sachini Ranasinghe, Desandhi Shihansa Gamage, Janandani Abeysinghe, WCM Pasindi Yathra Wijesuriya, WCM Minethma Lasandi Wickramasinghe