Invitational T20 League from 9 August


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will conduct an Invitational T20 League among 4 selected teams from 9 August onwards at the R Premadasa International Stadium. This league will be used as a yardstick to select squads for the upcoming Asia Cup and the ICC (International Cricket Council) T20 World Cup to be staged in Australia later this year.

60 National and First-Class cricketers will be selected shortly to represent the 4 teams. They will play each other on a league format, with the top 2 teams advancing to the final, which will be played on 16 August at the same venue.

Originally the Lanka Premier League (LPL) was to take place in August, but was later postponed to December.

Tournament Committee President and former Trinity/SSC fast bowler Samantha Dodanwela speaking to CT said: “Originally SLC planned to pick the Asia Cup and T20 World Cup national teams through the LPL, but later it was postponed. We are playing this tournament as an alternative to select squads for both vital events.”

Speaking further Dodanwela said: “There will be two matches each day: the first at 2.30 p.m. and the second under lights at 7.00 p.m. He ended by saying: “Last event of a similar nature was played at the Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium, with SLC Gray outfit led by Dasun Chanaka emerging champs.

By Special Correspondent