Wajira to swear in as MP today


UNP Chairman Wajira Abeywardena is to be sworn in as a National List MP today (27).

Abeywardena was nominated by the Election Commission of Sri Lanka for the seat which fell vacant due to the swearing in of President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Parliament is scheduled to convene today (27) at 10.00 a.m. and the proclamation on the state of emergency, declared by Wickremesinghe, under the Public Security Ordinance, is to be approved after debate at 4.30 p.m.

This proclamation was made by Wickremesinghe who was Acting President then through the Special Gazette No. 2288/30 dated 17 July 2022.

According to the legal provisions, if the approval of the Parliament is not obtained within 14 days, for the said proclamation, it will be cancelled.

The proclamation has been issued in accordance with the powers vested in the President in terms of the Public Security Ordinance to ensure public security and the protection of the public order and the maintenance supplies and services essential for the life of community.