SJB to vote nay to Emergency Regulations


Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) Parliamentary Group has unanimously decided to vote against the Emergency Regulation, today (27).

The decision was taken at both Party’s working committee and Parliamentary Group meetings held yesterday (26).

However, since it appeared there were differences of opinion about an all-party government, the Parliamentary group will meet again today to take a final decision on the vote on extending Emergency Regulations as well as on the party’s role in an
all-party government.

SJB MP Harshana Rajakaruna who spoke to media after the party’s working committee meeting and parliamentary group meeting said his party would support a multi-party government without accepting ministerial portfolios.

“We are of the opinion that SJB should play a role in the government without accepting any ministerial portfolios. We have also requested the government to appoint MP Harsha de Silva as the Chairman of Public Finance Committee. Also we believe that SJB should play a role in committees,” Rajakaruna said.

Speaking to Ceylon Today, he further added that he and the party oppose the emergency law but the final decision in regard the emergency will take today (27) morning.

“What the ruling party and President Ranil Wickremesinghe intend doing is to lure MPs to their camp by offering ministries and money. Therefore we don’t intend to be a party of such a government,” he said.  He alleged that monetary rewards have been given to MPs to get them to vote for Wickremesinghe when electing a new President.

However, MPs Thushara Indunil, Mujibur Rahman, and Tissa Attanayake confirmed that SJB will vote against Emergency.  MP Indunil said that they will see whether any SJB MPs would vote in favour of Emergency and confirmed the claim made by Minister Harin Fernando that some SJB have voted against the decision of their party on July 20.

By Nabiya Vaffoor