Wajira sworn in as UNP National List MP


Chairman of the United National Party (UNP) former Minister Wajira Abeywardena was sworn in as a Member of Parliament earlier today (27).

Abeywardena took oaths before Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

He was nominated following UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe’s taking up of Office as President last week, after which the UNP National List seat was made vacant.

While Abeywardena served as the Minister of Home Affairs during former President Maithripala Sirisena’s tenure, he is also rumored to be given a Cabinet Ministerial post.