Sri Lanka eye big lead after Mendis’ all-round display


Ramesh Mendis chipped in with a lower order cameo and then claimed three wickets for 42 runs to put Sri Lanka on course for a significant first innings lead against Pakistan on day two of the second test in Galle on Monday.

Batting at number nine, Mendis contributed 35 in Sri Lanka’s 378 all out at the Galle International Stadium.

The off-spinner then returned to wreck Pakistan’s middle order and the tourists finished day two on 191-7, still 187 behind.

Agha Salman led Pakistan’s fight back with a defiant 62 before being dismissed in the final delivery of the day.

Yasir Shah survived 61 balls, and an lbw decision against him that was reversed, for his 13 not out.

Earlier, Pakistan fast bowler Naseem Shah and spinner Yasir split the last four Sri Lankan wickets after the hosts had resumed on 315-6.

Niroshan Dickwella struck 51 and Mendis proved he was no dud with the bat to frustrate Pakistan.

Pakistan stuttered early in their reply losing Abdullah Shafique, whose unbeaten 160 had secured their two-wicket victory in the series opener, to the second ball of the innings.

Shafique dragged the ball onto his stumps after an ugly poke at an Asitha Fernando delivery to be dismissed for a duck.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam (16) departed in a similar fashion, trying to drive a Prabath Jayasuriya delivery without getting to the pitch of the ball and creating an inside edge that crashed onto his stumps.

Opener Imam-ul-Haq made 32 before Dhananjaya de Silva breached his defence.

Mohammad Rizwan and Fawad Alam, both made 24, also got the starts but could not convert them with Mendis trapping both lbw.

Rizwan also wasted a review trying to overturn the lbw decision against him.

Mendis removed Mahammad Nawaz to reduce Pakistan to 145-6 but Salman refused to throw in the towel.

The right-hander hit four fours and a six but could not survive the day and was snared in the slip off Jayasuriya’s bowling.

Sri Lanka 1st innings

O. Fernando c M. Rizwan b M. Nawaz            50

D. Karunaratne c N. Shah b Y. Shah               40

K. Mendis Run Out A. Salman                          03

A. Mathews c M. Rizwan b N. Ali                      42

D. Chandimal c F. Alam b M. Nawaz              80

D. de Silva b N. Shah                                         33

N. Dickwella c M. Rizwan b N. Shah                51

D. Wellalage c B. Azam b N. Shah 11

R. Mendis b Y. Shah                                            35

P. Jayasuriya lbw Y. Shah                                 08

A. Fernando Not Out                                           04

Extras: (4b 5lb 12nb)                         21

Total: (103.0 overs) 378 all out

Fall of Wickets: 1-92 Fernando, 2-96 Mendis, 3-120 Karunaratne, 4-195 Mathews, 5-258 Chandimal, 6-290 de Silva, 7-327 Wellalage, 8-333 Dickwella, 9-353 Jayasuriya, 10-378 R. Mendis

Bowling: N. Shah 18-3-58-3, N. Ali 21-2-64-1, M. Nawaz 19-3-80-2, Y. Shah 22- 2-83-3

Pakistan 1st Innings

A. Shafique b A. Fernando                                00

I. ul-Haq b D. de Silva                         32

B.Azam b P. Jayasuriya                     16

M. Rizwan lbw R. Mendis                   24

F. Alam lbw R. Mendis                        24

A. Salman c D. de Silva b P. Jayasuriya         62

M. Nawaz c N. Dickwella b R. Mendis             12

Y. Shah Not Out                                   13

Extras: 8b 0lb 0nb 0pen 0w                             08

Total: (69.4 overs) 191-7

Fall of Wickets: 1-0 Shafique, 2-35 Azam, 3-65 ul-Haq, 4-88 Rizwan, 5-119 Alam, 6-145 Nawaz, 7-191 Salman

Bowling: Ramesh Mendis 18-5-42-3, Prabath Jayasuriya 27.4-7-59-2, Asitha Fernando 14-1-49-1, Dhananjaya de Silva 4-0-15-1