Some SLPPers to sit in Opposition


A group from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, including SLPP Chairman Prof. G.L. Peiris and Matara District MP Dallas Alahapperuma, are preparing to sit in the Opposition.

Internal sources said the group of MPs who supported Alahapperuma in the recent parliamentary elections for a President are ready to act independently.

According to SLPP political sources, only 16 MPs will join this group, including Dilan Perera, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa and Chandima Weerakkodi.

He said the party will sit in the Opposition from the next parliamentary session.

By Krishan Pathirath Jayasuriya