Overseas travel bans issued on six activists


The Colombo Fort Magistrate’s Court today (25) issued a foreign travel ban on six activists for damaging public property during a protest on 9 June opposite the Police Headquarters.

The order was issued by Colombo Fort Magistrate Thilina Gamage on six activists including Secretary of the Sri Lanka Teachers Union Joseph Stalin, Convener of the Inter University Students Federation Wasantha Mudalige, Fr Jeewantha Peiris, Lahiru Weerasekera and Eranga Gunasekera.

The Magistrate issued the order after taking into consideration a request by the Colombo Fort Police Station regarding the incident.