Ranil sworn in as President


Ranil Shiran Wickremesinghe was sworn in as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka yesterday morning (21) before Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya at the Parliament Complex.

Upon arrival at Parliament, he was escorted inside by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Secretary General of Parliament Dammika Dasanayake and Serjeant-at-Arms Narendra Fernando.

Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella, former Presidents Mahinda Rajapaksa and Maithripala Sirisena, MP Dullas Alahapperuma, who contested for the Presidency against Wickremesinghe and a group of Ministers and MPs and First Lady Prof. Maithree Wickremesinghe were present.

Wickremesinghe who was the Acting President and the Premier was elected as the succeeding President by getting 134 votes in a secret ballot held on Wednesday (20) to elect the new President, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.