Parliament to be prorogued? : New PM, Cabinet today


Swearing-in ceremony of the new Cabinet of Ministers will take place under the patronage of President Ranil Wickremesinghe this morning at Prime Minister’s office on Flower Road, the Presidential Secretariat informed.

The Prime Minister will also be appointed this morning along with the Cabinet Ministers.

According to internal sources, three names of former SLPP ministers have been nominated. However, Leader of the House, Dinesh Gunawardena, is likely to be appointed as the new Prime Minister.

This, meanwhile, is a temporary measure until an all-party Cabinet is appointed, sources said.

Meanwhile, President Wickremesinghe has informed Party Leaders that he intends to prorogue Parliament for 24 hours for a “fresh ceremonial start”.

MP Mano Ganesan tweeted saying that the new President also informed his intention to bring the 19A in the original form, as soon as possible and would provide the Viharamahadevi Park, Town Hall grand area for the people to continue the protest. (GW)