Former DFCC CEO Lakshman Silva joins Seylan Bank board


 Former DFCC Bank Director/CEO Lakshman Silva has been appointed to the board of Seylan Bank PLC as an Independent Non-Executive Director, with effect from 18 July.

He was the Director/Chief Executive Officer of DFCC Bank PLC from August 2017 to December 2021 until his retirement from the Bank. He holds a BCom (Sp.) Degree from the University of Kelaniya and an MBA from the Postgraduate Institute of Management of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

He started his professional career with the Department of Inland Revenue of Sri Lanka and joined the DFCC Banking Group in 1987. He was seconded to the service of DFCC Vardhana Bank in 2003 and functioned as the Chief Operating Officer until appointment as the Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director in January 2010.He held the position of Deputy Chief Executive Officer/Director of DFCC Bank PLC from October 2015 until August 2017.

 Until his retirement from DFCC Bank PLC in December 2021, he held the position of Chairman of DFCC Consulting (Pvt) Limited and Synapsys Limited (subsidiary companies of DFCC Bank PLC) and the Chairman of Lanka Financial Services Bureau Limited as well as Sri Lanka Banks’ Association (Guarantee) Limited. He held the positions of Chairman of Acuity Partners (Pvt) Limited, the joint venture company of DFCC Bank PLC and Chairman of Lanka Ventures Limited and LVL Energy Fund PLC. He also served as a Director of Lanka Clear (Pvt) Ltd.

Lakshman Silva was a member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Development Financing Institutions in Asia and the Pacific (ADFIAP) and Board of Management of the Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority.

At present he holds the positions of Chairman of Lanka Industrial Estates Limited and Chairman of Panasian Power PLC and its subsidiary companies. He also serves as a member of the Stakeholder Engagement Committee of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and Ceylon Chamber of Commerce. He is a member and a Past President of the Association of Professional Bankers of Sri Lanka.