TNA to support Dullas for Presidency


The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) has decided to support Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Dullas Alahapperuma in the upcoming Parliamentary vote for Presidency.

Speaking to the media, TNA MP M.A. Sumanthiran assured the party’s support towards the SLPP MP.

Meanwhile, six other MPs belonging to the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), currently functioning independently within Parliament, the Union of Independent Parties, the Tamil Progressive Alliance (TPA), the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) and the All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) have also pledged their support towards Alahapperuma’s victory.

The submission of nominations for a new President was held in Parliament today (19), while a new President is to be elected tomorrow (20).

Accordingly, Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe from the United National Party (UNP), SLPP MP Dullas Alahapperuma and Anura Kumara Dissanayake from the National People’s Power (NPP) were nominated to take up Office.


More like this

Litro Gas prices reduced with effect from midnight

The price of Litro Gas cylinders have been revised...

Spinner Prabath Jayasuriya takes home ICC Player of the Month award

Sri Lankan spinner Prabath Jayasuriya's sensational start to international...

CTU General Secretary Joseph Stalin granted bail

General Secretary of the Ceylon Teachers Union Joseph Stalin...

Lanka IOC permitted to open 50 new fuel stations islandwide

The Ministry of Power and Energy has announced that...