Presidential nominations: Three nominees accepted


Three nominees were accepted by the Secretary General of Parliament a short while ago (19), to the Office of President.

Accordingly, Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe was nominated for the Presidency by Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena and seconded by MP Manusha Nanayakkara, while National People’s Power (NPP) Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake was also nominated for Office by MP Vijitha Herath and seconded by MP Dr. Harini Amarasuriya.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Dullas Alahapperuma was nominated for the Presidency by Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa and seconded by MP Prof G.L. Peiris.

Earlier today, Premadasa withdrew himself from the race for Presidency,  for the “greater good of the country and its people”, thereby pledging his party’s support towards Alahapperuma’s victory in the upcoming Parliamentary vote.