Electing President : Nominations Today


The submission of nominations, to elect the new President, will be held in Parliament today (19).

Accordingly, Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe from the UNP, Dullas Alahapperuma from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa from the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) and Anura Kumara Dissanayake from the Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) are to submit nominations for the post of President.

This is the first time in Sri Lankan political history where a new President is elected by Parliament from among multiple candidates.

Although there was one previous experience of electing a President through Parliament in Sri Lanka, this time is special. In 1993, following the demise of former President Ranasinghe Premadasa, D.B. Wijetunga was unanimously elected to serve out the remainder of the Presidential term, without a poll as the succeeding President.

Meanwhile, several meetings between the candidates and political party representatives had taken place yesterday (18), canvassing for support.

Acting President Wickremesinghe held discussions with a group of SLPP MPs who represent the North Western, North Central and Eastern Provinces. Former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa had also participated in this discussion, Ceylon Today learns.

Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa had a discussion with the representatives of the Independent Parliamentarians’ Forum as well.

SJB General Secretary Ranjith Maddumabandara, independent MPs including Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila, Dr. G. Weerasinghe, Asanka Navaratne and Gevindu Cumaratunga participated in the discussion.

BY Methmalie Dissanayake