Gotabaya’s resignation officially announced in Parliament


Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s resignation from Presidency was officially announced during this morning’s (16) Parliamentary session by Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dassanayake.

Accordingly, nominations for a new President will be called at 10:00 am on 19 July. In the event there is more than one name nominated for Presidency, a Parliamentary vote is due to be held on 20 July.

Former Minister Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Dullas Alahapperuma and Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) Leader Sajith Premadasa have announced that they will be contesting for Presidency.