New President to be Chosen on 20 July


Nominations to appoint a President will be called on 19 July, after summoning Parliament on 15 July to announce President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s resignation. A President will be chosen on 20 July, Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena said yesterday (11).

The Speaker revealed this after the Party Leaders’ Meeting yesterday (11).

Abeywardena said President Rajapaksa has informed him that he would be resigning tomorrow (13). The Party Leaders’ Meeting was called to determine what should be done immediately to resolve the current situation, according to the Constitution, he said.

“The Party Leaders noted that a new President should be appointed within a short period according to the Article 40 of the Constitution and the Presidential Elections Act No. 2 of 1981. They said after appointing a President, an All-Party Government under him should be established and a mechanism should be formed to carry out essential services without any interruption,” the Speaker said.

 Meanwhile, Chief Government Whip Prasanna Ranatunga informed the Speaker that if an All-Party Government is established even by today (12), Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and the Cabinet are willing to resign.

By Methmalie Dissanayake