Nalanda secure Trophy after dearth of 69-years


Nalanda College Colombo won their big match after 69 years when they beat Ananda College Colombo by 9 wickets in the 92nd ‘Battle of the Maroons’ at the SSC yesterday.

Batting first, Nalanda scored 289 runs for 9 wickets declared in 61.2 overs. Chanul Athukorala, right hand middle order batsman scored 88 runs in 89 balls with 10 boundaries. Raveen de Silva (40), Dineth Samaraweera (33), Rusiru Vilochana (25), Vinuja Ranpul (23), Yasiru Samarakoon (23), Eranga Jayakody (23) and Kushmitha Silva (17) helped to build their innings. Shakthi Udara claimed 5 wickets for 90 runs and Pulindu Kiriella 3 wickets for 57 runs. 

Continuing from their overnight score of 69/5, Ananda were bowled out for 139 runs in 42.5 overs. Iruth Gimshan remained unbeaten on 70 in 106 balls with 7 boundaries and a six. Shakthi Udara (21) and Nethma Karunarathne (16) helped to build their innings. Vinuja Ranpul claimed 4 wickets for 25 runs and Raveen de Silva 3 for 33.

Following on 150 runs behind, Ananda were bowled out for 180 runs in 58 overs. Hansaja Jayasinghe scored 48 runs. Lakshita Kularathna (32), Mineth Premarathne (23), Tehann Perera (17), Nethma Karunarathne (15), Nushal Dharmarathne (14) and Shakthi Udara (14) helped build their innings. Raveen de Silva was once again among the wickets claiming 4 wickets for 80 runs, while Vinuja Ranpul claimed 2 wickets for 40 runs.

Set a target of 31 runs in 14 overs, Nalanda reached the target for the loss of one wicket. Raveen de Silva scored an unbeaten 18 runs.

Youth cap Raveen de Silva (Nalanda) was adjudicated Man of the Match, and another youth cap Vinuja Ranpul, also from Nalanda, was adjudicated best bowler. Chanul Athukorala (Nalanda) was adjudicated best batter and Nushal Dharmarathne (Ananda) was adjudicated best fielder.

Brief scores:

Nalanda: 289/9d (61.2) (Chanul Athukorala 88, Raveen de Silva 40, Dineth Samaraweera 33, Shakthi Udara 5/90, Pulindu Kiriella 3/57) and 31/1 (5.2) (Raveen de Silva 18*)

Ananda: 139 (42.5) (Iruth Gimshan 70 n.o., Shakthi Udara 21, Vinuja Ranpul 4/25, Raveen de Silva 3/33) and 180 (58) (Hansaja Jayasinghe 48, Lakshita Kularathna 32, Raveen de Silva 4/80, Vinuja Ranpul 2/40)