Names of Dullas, Sajith proposed


During a meeting of leaders of 10 independent parties in Parliament, the names of SLFP MP Dullas Alahapperuma and Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa have been proposed for the posts of President and Prime Minister, respectively.

MP Udaya Gammanpila said, there should not be a vote in Parliament for selecting a PM. Premadasa and Alahapperuma should discuss together and come to a conclusion about taking up the two posts, he added.

The 10 coalition parties of the Government,which later became independent in Parliament recently, opined that since Alahapperuma is an SLPP MP, he should be appointed as President as the SLPP holds the majority in Parliament.

Another meeting was held yesterday (10) at SJB MP Thalatha Atukorale’s residence with the participation of MPs Dayasiri Jayasekara, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Duminda Dissanayake representing the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), MPs Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila and Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera representing 10 coalition parties, independent MP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, MPs Ranjith Maddumabandara, Dr. Rajitha Senaratne and BuddhikaPathirana representing Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) and MPs Jeevan Thondaman and Senthil Thondaman representing Ceylon Workers’ Congress (CWC).

As a Party Leaders’ meeting is scheduled today (11) at 2:00 p.m. it was conveyed to Premadasa and Alahapperuma to discuss the matter and come to a common ground, Gammanpila said.

By Vineetha M. Gamage