MAS Active clash with CDB


MAS Active Linea Intimo will seek sweet revenge when they meet unbeaten Citizens Development Business (CDB) for the second time in the 11th Stafford Motor Co. (Pvt) Ltd, sponsored ‘Honda’ Trophy MCA ‘G’ Division, 25-Over League Tournament 2022 Final, on Sunday, 10 July at the MCA grounds, commencing 10:00 a.m.

 The finalists were in Group ‘B’, and when they met in the round–robin, CDB scored a narrow 8 runs win on 2nd April in Mattegoda.

 On completion of the league stage which contained 120 half day matches among 42 teams pooled into 6 groups, CDB finished on top of Group ‘B’ and MAS Active Linea Intimo were the runner-up.

 In the Knock-out stage, CDB continued their unbeaten run, scoring wins over McLarens Group by 29 runs in the pre-quarter finals, Singer Sri Lanka ‘B’ by 7 wickets in the quarter-final and Brandix Essentials in a thriller by 2 wickets in the last ball.

 CDB’s Best Performers with the bat & ball were: Ashan Sampath (7 innings, 268 runs with 2 half centuries and 9 wickets for 94 runs), Buddhika Weranga (7 innings, 227 runs with 02 half centuries), Tharindu Madusanka (5 innings 171 runs), Isuru Jayaranga (10 wickets for 110 runs) and P.G. Sandaruwan (8 wickets for 124 runs). 

 MAS Active Linea Intimo beat Hilton Colombo Residencies by 5 wickets in the pre-quarters; scored an upset 5 runs win over Group ‘E’ leaders Softlogic Life in the quarter-finals and Teejay Lanka (Group ‘C’ leader) by 14 runs in the semi-finals.

 Best performers for MAS Active with the bat & ball were: Dushmantha Dissanayake (8 innings, 282 runs with 2 half centuries), Roshan Wijesekera (8 innings, 281 runs with two half centuries), Uvindu Migara (8 innings, 197 runs with a half century), Geeth Sankalpa (12 wickets for 188 runs), Thilina Kasun (8 wickets for 116 runs) and S. Mihiranga (8 wickets for 126 runs).


CDB (From) Lalith Peiris (Captain), Weranga Dissanayake, Chamil Silva, Vishwa Rathnayake, Saman Ambilmeegama, Kanishka Kurera, Tharindu Madusanka, Ashan Sampath, Eranda Rukshan, Isuru Jayaranga, Janith Ranasinghe, Thilakshana Silva, Punsara Gimhana, Chamidu Sathmina, Dilshan Madushan, Sandun Gamage, Dilshan Abeysinghe

MAS Active (From) Geeth Sankalpa (C), Vimukthi Deshapriya (VC), Roshan Wijesekera (WK), Uvindu Migara, Dushmantha Dissanayake, Sewmal Mihiranga, Heshan Thenuwara, Gihan Charuka, Thevanka Sandaruwan, Sashen Dissanayake, Thilina Kasun, Anushan Ranendra, Sumila Dasun, Viraj Nishantha, Ranjith Bandara