BREAKING: Curfew imposed in seven localities


A police curfew is to be imposed at 09:00 pm today (08) in seven localities, as per a statement issued by the Inspector General of Police (IGP).

Accordingly, curfew is to be imposed in Nugegoda, Mt.Lavinia, Negombo, Kelaniya and within the Northern, Southern and Central parts of Colombo.

The public have been instructed to remain in their homes, IGP C.D. Wickremeratne said, adding that travel between curfew-imposed localities is prohibited.

Strict action is to be taken against those who break police curfew.

The directive comes hours ahead of the mass anti-government protests scheduled to take place tomorrow (09).