Wesley battle Isipathana today


Two well balanced teams will be out to continue their winning streak when Wesley College Isipathana at Sugathadasa Stadium today at 4.15 p.m.

The two schools previously met in 2019, where Wesley defeated Pathana under the captaincy of Murshid Doray.

Both schools won their opening league matches last week. Wesley registered a comfortable win against Vidyartha, but will face a tough challenge against Isipathana who won against Science.   

Wesley is led by Tharusha Jayaweera and possess some outstanding players in their ranks. They will be out to give a torrid time to the Havelock Town boys.

After a winning start, Pathana will come out strong. They are led by Dahan Wickramarachchi, who will be supported by his deputy Praveen Stefan, Venura Kodagoda, Sooriya Dodangoda and Tharindu Sandaruwan.

Former Wesleyite and Emirates Airline Engineer Sharman Mouffer will be the chief guest. He has flown down from UAE specially to witness the match. He played rugby and hockey for Wesley in 1990-91. He also coached the U-13 team that ended as all-island runner-up. He was one of pioneer members of the class of 90’s and was the first President when Wesley did not have any active age groups. He was part of the team that revived Wesley Rugby.

Referee: Raveen Alexander

Joes out to continue winning streak

St. Joseph’s will go all out to continue their winning ways when they confront S. Thomas’ in their 2nd encounter played for the Lady Jayathilake Trophy. The match takes place at Havelock Park.

Joes had an easy outing against Kingswood winning 34/3. Meanwhile, Thomians put up a gutsy display before going down to Trinity up in the Hills 13/20. Thomians had a fair share of the ball in their possession but couldn’t convert into points, which finally made the difference between the two teams. Joes will depend heavily on skipper Teran Karunanayake, who will be well supported by Naven Marasinghe and Vihanga Randeepa. Thomians are led by crack No.8 Chariya Kurukulasuriya who had an outstanding game against Trinity. He will be well supported by Shenal Fernando, Viyan de Silva and Jadena Koch, the seniors in the outfit.

Referee: Aaqil Jamaldeen

Trinity hold slight edge

Trinity will lock horns against St. Anthony’s Katugastota at the Nittawela Rugby Stadium on 1 July. Kick-off is scheduled at 4.00 p.m.

Trinity beat Thomians in their first outing, while Antonians went down fighting against defending champions Royal in Colombo. The last game between the two schools was played at the same venue two years back when Trinitians ended on the winning side.

Antonians are led by Jeyan Amarasinghe and have some class acts like Yasiru Gamage, Rahuman Deen and Oshan Gunaratne in their outfit. They are coached by former Vidyartha and Navy player Sumedha Malawana.

Meanwhile, Trinity had a good outing against the Thomians in their opener. They settled down and played cohesive rugby after 15 minutes of the first half. Their three-quarter line with some fast runners looks a threatening unit against any team.

They are led by Lithmal Moragoda, who will be supported by Kovida Wickremasinghe, Aattab Manzil, Mohamed Kaleel and Jayageeth Basnayake. With the return of Zeshan Zakeer as hooker things in the line out should well work for Trinity in their second outing. Trinity is coached by Kavinda Jayasena.

Referee: Ishanka Abeykoon

Royal to have things their own way

Royal had a tough outing against the Antonians but won 22/12 in the end. They are led by Harshith Peiris.

Kingswood is led by Randila Ranaweera and have the experienced duo Eshara Dissanayake and Imanka Ishara to support him.

Royal should have things their own way playing at home as Kingswood looks a weak opponent.

Referee: Hasantha Weranga

Peterites to continue winning form

After a tough first half against Rajans, Peterites went on to win it comfortably in the end. They will be in the Central Hills for their clash against Vidyartha in Nittawela.

Though the home team could dish out some tough rugby in the initial half, the lads from Bambalapitiya should wrap up things in the end.

Referee: Gihan Yatawara

Rajans look
for first win

Rajans hold the edge over the Science outfit playing on their home ground. Rajans are led by their Co-Captains Sawmya Wijesiri and Thenuka Wickremasinghe, with the experienced trio Dilshan Sasanka, Ramidha Ratnayake and Kasun Seneviratne to support them.

Referee: Dilum Deeshana

1 July

Royal vs Kingswood at Royal Complex

St Anthony’s vs Trinity in Nittawela

Wesley vs Isipathana at Sugathadasa Stadium

2 July

Dharmaraja vs Science in Nittawela

St. Joseph’s vs S. Thomas’ at Havelock Park

3 July

Vidyartha vs St Peter’s in Nittawela

By Special Correspondent