Asanga Seneviratne re-elected President Sri Lanka Baseball


Veteran Sports Administrator Asanga Seneviratne was re-elected President of Sri Lanka Baseball at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 26 June at the Ceylonese Rugby Football Club premises.

Asanga is a well-known Sports Administrator and has held the following posts previously:

Vice President: National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka and is an Independent Committee Member;

Chairman: Competitions and High-Performance Sports;

Chairman: Stock Brokers’ Association of Sri Lanka from 2005-2006;

President: Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union from 2012-2018;

Secretary General: Asia Rugby

Vice President: Sri Lanka Cricket from 2013 to 2016.  

He is presently Chairman of Nation Lanka Equities (Pvt.) Ltd. and Managing Director of Asia Fort Asset Management (Private) Limited, Anilana Hotels & Properties PLC and Investor Access Equities (Private) Limited.

He has also served on the following corporate Boards of Directors:

Director of the CSE;

Chairman of NatWealth Securities;

Director of Nation Lanka Finance PLC.

Seneviratne currently serves as Chairman of the recently appointed Rugby Advisory Committee (RAC). He was also appointed to the board of Sri Lanka’s Colombo Stock Exchange.

Sanka Abeywickrama continues as Secretary, while Akila Premathilake was re-elected unopposed as Treasurer.

Brigadier Anil Perera, and SSP Ajith Hesiri were elected to partner Manoj Fernando and Air Commodore (Retd) Sujeevan Senarathne as Vice Presidents.