Trinity win 20-13 to regain Canon de Saram Shield


Trinity pulled off a hard-fought 20/13 win over S. Thomas in their Dialog Inter School Under-20 rugby encounter at the Pallekelle Rugby Stadium last week-end to regain the Canon de Saram trophy from the Thomians which they lost 3 months back.

Trinity led 17/6 at the short breather.

Fly half Aattab Manzil, full back Kovida Wickremasinghe and scrum half Shaveen Premaratne were outstanding for Trinity, Chariya Kurukulasuriya, Prop, Mohamed Ali and fly half Bulathsinghala were outstanding for the Thomians.

Thomians scored through skipper Chariya Kurukulasuriya with Bulathsinghalage converting one and putting over 2 penalties.

Trinity scored through skipper Lithmal Moragoda and Kovida Wcikremasinghe. Kovida converted the 2 tries plus 2 penalties.

Referee Dilum Dheeshana

Trinity won the Under-16 game 15/0, but lost the Under-18 encounter 20/5.

Bimal Fernando, Trinity 1986 vice-captain, rugby ‘Lion’, former CH and FC and Kandy SC player, who studied at both Institutions, was the Chief Guest.

 Peterites outclass Rajans 27-12

St. Peter’s outplayed Dharmaraja by 27 points (5 tries, 1 conversion) to 12 (2 tries, 1 conversion) in Bambalapitiya last week-end.

 At the short breather scores were level 12 all.

 Peterites played a well-coordinated game after settling down well in the latter half. Dineth Ranasinghe scored the first try which was converted Vindya de Mel. Their scrum half, Rajitha Ekanayake scored the second try.

 Rajans scored through scrum half Thanthirige which was converted by fly half Wijesiri, and later Bandara touched down for the Kandy school to level the scores at the short breather.

 After the turn around, Vishenka de Silva, Umeth Ishara and Hashan Madugaspe touched down for the Peterites, with Vindya converting one of them.

 Referee Aaqil Jamaldeen

 Wesley stamp their class

Wesley made a bold start to their opener with a 6-try blitz at Longden Place last week-end, when they beat Vidyartha 38-7.

 Wesley scored through Hafiz Thabith (2), Rigesh Muralidaran, Isuru Perera, Sheal Samuel and Nithil Rodrigo. Shaveen Jayawardena was accurate with 4 of the conversions.

 Referee Hasantha Weranga

By Special Correspondent