Opposition parties stage walkout


Several Opposition parties walked out of the Parliament Chamber yesterday (21), saying they would boycott Parliament Sittings this week in protest of the Government’s inability to provide solutions for the burning problems of general public.

“This Government has no heart. They do not care about the suffering of the people.

In this situation, we do not want to sit in this Chamber for the Sittings. We will boycott the rest of the Sittings this week. We will stand up with the people on the roads,”Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa stressed. Meanwhile, Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake also stated that his party would boycott Parliament this week.

He suggested that the Government submit a short-term programme to address the on-going crisis, to take the country forward.

Following these, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), independent MPs Patali Champika Ranawaka and Ven. Athureliye Rathana Thera walked out of the Chamber, along with the SJB and the JJB.

BY Gagani Weerakoon and Methmalie Dissanayake