Ted Muttiah re-elected President of CR and FC


Ted Hiran Muttiah, former Royal captain, Kandy SC, CR and FC and national player, was re-elected for the 3rd year in tandem as the President of Ceylonese Rugby and Football Club at their 93rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at their club house on 17 June.

Ted played for Royal from 1980 to 82, leading the team in his last year. After leaving school he turned out for Kandy SC for one season before shifting to the Red Shirts in 1983. In 1984 he was selected to the national team for the Rugby Asiad held in Japan (Fukoka). He scored two magnificent tries on his debut against Malaysia, which Sri Lankan won.

Tikiri Ellapola, former Trinity cricket and rugby skipper (1980) and CR and FC, was elected Deputy President. Tikiri played for Trinity in 1978 and went on to lead the team in his last year. He was also a Ryde Gold Medallist (Best All-Round Student) at Trinity.

Office Bearers

President: Ted Hiran Muttiah

Deputy President: Tikiri Ellapola

Vice President: Savantha de Saram, Shanitha Fernando

Secretary: JakqueDiasz

Asst. Secretary: Zulker Hamid 

Treasurer: Ravi Edirisinghe

Asst. Treasurer: Nuwan de Silva

Past President: Sriyan Cooray

Chairman Rugby Board: Savantha de Saram

Chairman Other Games: Mano Jayarajan

Rugby Management Board:

Savantha de Saram (Chairman), Pavithra Fernando, JivanGoonetilleke, Dinuk de S. Wijeratne and Ishan Noor

By Special Correspondent