Army clinch title in low-scoring thriller


An all-round performance helped Army SC dominate Colts CC by 45 runs in a low scoring thriller to clinch the title at the Major Club T20 Cricket Tournament at
P. Sara Oval on Friday.

Put into bat, Army CC posted 139-9 in their allotted 20 overs and in reply Colts CC were bowled out for 94 runs in just 18.3 overs.

Army CC were off to dominant start scoring 10 runs per over, but failed to capitalise as their opener Ashan Randika (22) was sent packing in the 3rd over to put some early pressure.

After the early breakthrough, Army Looked to build their innings with Thulina Dilshan (14) and Seekkuge Prasanna in the middle, but Colts bowlers were too good as they stunned the Soldiers with two quick blows to hold the upper hand after 10 overs.

Seekkuge Prasanna was the only batter to threaten the Colts bowlers with a fighting 29 runs off 20 balls which included three boundaries and a six.

At one stage, Army were reeling on 66-4, but cameos from Yasoda Mendis (21) and Mahesh Kumara (19) steered them to a reasonable 139 runs at the end of 20 overs.

In reply, Colts CC lost the plot from the get go and were bundled out for 94 runs. Seekkuge Prasanna and Lakshan Edirisinghe wreaked havoc with the Colts batting line up claiming three wickets each.

Opener Sangeeth Cooray was the only batter to impress with watchful run a ball 38 runs, which was clearly not enough to take his team over the line.

Seekkuge Prasanna of Army was adjudicated man of the final, while Ashan Randika also of Army CC, was adjudicated player of the series.

Brief scores:

Army CC: 139/9 (20) (Seekkuge Prasanna 29, Ashan Randika 22, Yasoda Mendis 21, Mahesh Kumara 19, Dhananjaya Lakshan 3/25) 

Colts CC: 94 (18.3) (Sangeeth Cooray 38, Seekkuge Prasanna 3/17, Lakshan Edirisinghe 3/19) 

By Mustaq Sydeen