Special Select Committee report to be tabled – Dinesh


Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardene said that the final report compiled by the Special Select Committee formed towards changing the country’s election system will be tabled in Parliament at its next sessions.

A special discussion on it was held during the party leaders meeting at the Parliament Complex on 15 June.

Majority of those who attended the Select Committee meeting insisted that certain clauses contained in the final report should be changed and maintained that they will not consent to its ratification sans the amendments.

The meeting had ended abruptly without reaching a final decision. Among those in attendance were Ministers Nimal Siripala de Silva, Mahinda Amaraweera, MPs Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Ranjith Maddumabandara, Sagara Kariyawasam, M.A. Sumanthiran, Madura Vithanage, Jeewan Thondaman and Pavithra Wanniarachchi.