GMOA elects new Chief, Executive Committee


The presidency of the Government Medical Officers’ Association (GMOA) changed hands after 12 years when Consultant Neurologist Dr. Dharshana Sirisena was elected as the new chief of the doctors’ union at it’s at its 95th Annual General Meeting on Saturday (11).

Former Secretary of the GMOA, Dr. Senal Fernando said that Dr. Haritha Aluthge had succeeded him as the new Secretary for 2022/2023. He noted that Dr. Aluthge had held the Secretary Post for 2018/2020 and had been re-elected to it for 2022/2023.  Apart from Dr. Sirisena, the union’s new executive body consists of Dr. Anuruddha Padeniya as Past President,  Dr. Sanjeewa Tennakoon and Chandika Epitakaduwa as Vice Presidents, Dr. Haritha Aluthge as Secretary, Dr. Kanchana Bulankulama, Prabhath Sugathadasa, Palitha Rajapaksha and Ajantha Rajakaruna as Assistant Secretaries, Dr. Kamal Kodikara  as Treasurer, Dr. Chandana Dharmaratne as Editor and Dr. Chamil Wijesinghe as Assistant Editor.  The New Secretary of the Union, Dr. Aluthge yesterday (15) said that that the union hopes to maintain “a political outlook while giving due respect to the aspirations of the people and and prioritising the welfare and needs of its members”.

He noted that the opinion and technical knowledge of experts in the relevant fields will be respected whenever possible while consolidating the internal democracy within the union. “The right to freedom of expression will be respected”.

Dr. Aluthge noted that the environment would be created for all categories of Medical Officers (Specialist Physicians, Administrative Grade Physicians and Grade Physicians) to work with professional dignity.

Meanwhile, the Government Medical Officers Forum (GMOF) congratulating the new Executive Committee said they had never been against the GMOA but had only been against corruption taking place within it. President of the GMOF, Dr. Rukshan Bellana said that his outfit is willing to collaborate with the newly elected GMOA Executive Committee by entering into a memorandum of understanding for the betterment of the medical profession. 

By Dilanthi Jayamanne and Faadhila Thassim