IASL appoints office bearers for 2022


The Insurance Association of Sri Lanka (IASL), the representative body of the insurance industry in the country, appointed its office bearers for 2022 recently.

Accordingly, the association appointed Iftikar Ahamed, Managing Director of Softlogic Life Insurance PLC as the President, Chandana L. Aluthgama CEO of Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation as the Vice President, Lasitha Wimalaratne CEO of HNB Assurance PLC as the Secretary, Tanuj Edward, Managing Director and CEO of Orient Insurance Limited as the Treasurer, and J.M. Niyas as the Secretary-General of IASL. Further, Chairpersons for the sub-committees were also appointed for 2022.

At present, all 29 registered insurance companies are members of IASL and the association is led by the common objective of bringing the insurers together to create a platform for cooperates regarding the matters affecting the common interest and welfare of its members and is synonymous in its efforts to provide protection through insurance to the Sri Lankan public.

The Executive Committee of the
IASL and sub-committees concentrate on significant matters and new developments to the industry and is embodied with the General Insurance Forum Chaired by Kasun De Silva, Assistant General Manager – MidCorp Business of Allianz Insurance Lanka Limited, Life Insurance Forum Chaired by Dayaratne Perera, Act. Chief Officer – Life of Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation, Legal Advisory Forum chaired by Kushan Weththasinghe, Assistant General Manager Legal of Ceylinco Life Insurance Limited, Financial and Technical Sub Committee chaired by Nuwan Withanage EVP/Chief Financial Officer of Softlogic Life Insurance, Marketing and Sales Forum chaired by Namalee A. Silva, Deputy General Manager/Head of Marketing of Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation, IT Sub Committee chaired by Amal Dharmapriya, EVP/Chief Information Officer of Softlogic Life Insurance PLC, HR Sub-Committee chaired by Indika Bamunusinghe, SVP/Chief Human Resource Officer of Softlogic Life PLC Insurance and the Actuarial Sub-Committee chaired by  Malaka Mihindukulasuriya, Chief Actuary of Allianz Life Insurance Lanka Limited, operate within the purview of the Executive Committee enabling cooperation, knowledge sharing, and transfer of best practices between peers.