Dhammika Perera gazetted as MP


The Election Commission on Friday (10), gazetted the name of business tycoon Dhammika Perera, as an SLPP National List MP, to fill the Parliamentary Seat made vacant by the resignation of Basil Rajapaksa.

The name of Perera was submitted to the Election Commission earlier on Friday (10) by the SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam. Perera also resigned from the director boards of several companies in which he held shares and was also given a SLPP membership.

Kariyawasam commenting on whether Perera will be given any ministerial portfolio observed such decision could only be taken by the President.

On 9 Thursday, Rajapaksa handed over his letter of resignation to Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake. He entered the Ninth Parliament from the National List on 8 July 2021, representing the SLPP as an MP. He then served as the Minister of Finance for several months. He has been a MP twice before.

Rajapaksa during the special media briefing, held to announce his resignation, noted he is stepping down from anything construed as a part of state governance, but that he will remain in politics if the need arises while stating, “I am not needed in Parliament anymore, I came to Parliament to take over the position of Minister of Finance and now that I have stepped down from the Ministerial portfolio, I do not belong in Parliament.” 

With Rajapaksa’s resignation Perera, who is a leading businessman and who also served as the Secretary to the Ministry of Transport, was tipped to be his replacement.

By Faadhila Thassim