Super 16 Schools’ Netball Championship for MILO Champion Cup


The Super 16 Schools’ Netball Championship will be held on 12 June at the Buddhadasa Stadium in Battaramulla. The championship is planned as a one-day event and the final will be held at 3.30 p.m.

The top 16 schools from the Sri Lanka Schools Netball Tournament held back in 2019 will go head-to-head this Sunday, in an attempt to win the coveted ‘MILO Champion Cup’ in the final round. This Championship will help resume school netball, which was on hold for 2 years due to the outbreak of the pandemic, offering students the opportunity to showcase their netball skills on a national platform.

Organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Netball Association under the guidance of the Ministry of Education, this event is sponsored by Nestlé MILO as part of their ambition to develop grassroot sports in the country. As a brand that nourishes children to go further in life, Nestlé MILO has supported the progression of school netball for over 20 years. First round of the Championship will be held on a league basis, following which will be a knock-out round. Each team can consist of 16 players aged between 16 and 20, and registration should be done before the start of the respective game. Accordingly, those born between 01.01.2006 and 31.12.2003 are eligible.  

The Chief Guests will be the Director of Education (Sports and Physical Education) – A.D.M.D. Bandara, Assistant Director of Education (Sports and Education) – V. Upali Amarathunga and representatives from Nestlé Lanka, whilst the event will be graced by special invitee Victoria Lakshmi, the President of the Sri Lankan Netball Association.

The 16 schools are: Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Colombo 8, Dharamapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya, Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda, Girls’ High School, Kandy, Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Colombo 10, Helena Wijewardana Balika Vidyalaya, Kelaniya, Hillwood College, Kandy, Holy Family Convent, Kalutara, Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala, Kalutara Balika Vidyalaya, Kalutara, Ladies College, Colombo 7, Maliyadeva Balika Vidyalaya, Kurunegala, Musaeus College, Colombo 7, Presbyterian Girls’ National College, Dehiwala, Sacred Heart Convent, Galle, Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo 5