Basil out; Dhammika in?


SLPP MP Basil Rajapaksa has decided to step down from his Parliamentary Seat, SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam said.

Meanwhile, business tycoon Dhammika Perera is tipped to replace Rajapaksa from the SLPP National List.

Rajapaksa is due to make a special statement in this regard today (9), and step down on the same day.

After stepping down from the Parliamentary Seat, Rajapaksa wishes to engage in party activities full time, it is learnt.

Following SLPP National List MP Jayantha Ketagoda stepping down from his Parliamentary Seat to make way for Rajapaksa, the Election Commission on 7 July 2021, issued an Extraordinary Gazette naming the latter as an MP.

Rajapaksa was later appointed as the Minister of Finance and he stepped down from his Ministerial portfolio due to public anger against the Government.