Luxman Wijesuriya re-elected President


Luxman Wijesuriya was unanimously re-elected President  of the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka (CFSL) for a second consecutive term at their Annual General Meeting held on 30 May at CFSL headquarters. Wijesuriya is currently serving as the General Secretary of the South Asian Chess Council and the Commonwealth Chess Association and is also a Vice President of the Asian Chess Federation.

Kanishka Welipitiya was elected as the new Secretary General, while Erosh Jayasinghe will continue as the Treasurer.

All members of the Executive Committee were also unanimously elected, which is indicative of the unity within the chess community.

Office Bearers:

President: Luxman Wijesuriya

Deputy President: Deepthi Hewageegana

Secretary General: Kanishka Welipitiya

Treasurer: Erosh Jayasinghe

Vice Presidents: Thushan Wickramaarachchi, Malith Akalanka, Buddhi Alahakoon, Chinthaka Weerasinghe, R.S. Kalugampitiya, Dayal Siriwardena, Buddhi Panagoda

Tournament Secretary: Niroshan Chathuranga

Asst. Secretary: J.K.C. Ketalawala

Asst. Treasurer: Rajiv Thilakarathne

Executive Committee: Werochana Perera, Santhiribalan Nirmalarajah, Ayodhya Liyanagedara, Washini Chamithri, Lalantha Viraj Mudalige

 The Sri Lanka Schools Chess Association will nominate a Vice President to represent schools.

Addressing the gathering, the President thanked everyone for the progress made by CFSL even with the pandemic situation, and requested their continued support. He declared that this is the Golden Jubilee year of CFSL and various events/functions have been organised to celebrate it, including International Youth Online event, Golden Jubilee Grandmaster event, Arbiter seminars and a comprehensive league with foreign players. He also said that CFSL is looking forward to participate at international events, including the FIDE Chess Olympiad this year.

The election Committee consisted of Upali Gunasekara (Chairman), Aruna de Silva and Nadeeka Perera.