Seven-judge SC Bench to hear Petitions daily


The seven-judge Bench of the Supreme Court yesterday (6) decided to hear on a daily basis,  Petitions filed against former President Maithripala Sirisena, former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, former IGP, Defence Secretary and a few others over their alleged failure to prevent the Easter Sunday Attacks and having aided the same.

Accordingly the Petitions will be taken up on a daily basis from today (7) onwards. Archbishop of Colombo, Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith is also among the Petitioners.

The Bench comprises Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justices Buwaneka Aluwihara, N.B. Murudu Fernando, L.T.B. Dehedeniya, Shiran Gunaratne, A.H.M.D. Nawas and S.Thurairajah.