Sasanka, Tharusha guide Wickramabahu to semis


Unbeaten Wickramabahu National School Gampola advanced to the semi-final of the Under-19 Division Three Tier ‘B’ Inter Schools Limited Overs Cricket tournament on Friday when they beat St. Michael’s College Batticaloa by 5 wickets in the quarter final played at General Lionel Balagalla ground (Gunners’ ground) Minneriya.

Winning the toss and deciding to bat, St. Michael’s scored 195 runs for 8 wickets in their 50 overs. A. Latharsan (62 in 85 balls with 8 boundaries) and skipper A. Yathusan (55 in 98 balls with 4 boundaries) were involved in a 116 runs stand for the 6th wicket. Nimnada Soysa claimed 2 wickets for 35 runs.

Wickramabahu NS scored 196 runs for 5 wickets in 30.2 overs. Skipper Sasanka Bandara (56* in 47 balls with 4 boundaries and 4 sixes) and Tharusha Sampath (50* in 48 balls with 4 boundaries and 3 sixes) were involved in an unbroken 115 runs stand for the 6th wicket. A. Yathusan claimed 2 wickets for 36 runs.

In Minneriya (Wickramabahu NS won by 5 wickets)

St. Michael’s: 195/8 (50) (A. Latharsan 62, A. Yathusan 55, Nimnada Soysa 2/35) 

Wickramabahu NS: 196/5 (30.2) (Sasanka Bandara 56 n.o., Tharusha Sampath 50 n.o., Shammika Ashan 29, A. Yathushan 2/36)