Chandimal’s half ton scripts Army SC’s easy win over Moors


Dinesh Chandimal’s unbeaten 53* helped Army SC stun Moors SC by 7 wickets in a group ‘D’ fixture of the ongoing Major Clubs T20 Tournament at P Sara Oval Colombo yesterday.

Moors posted a fighting 131 runs on the back of a brilliant half century from Chathuranga de Silva after being invited to bat. Moors had the worst start to their innings as their opener Kithuruwan Vithanage (0) was sent back to the pavilion in the very first over to put some early pressure. Top order batters Dinuka Dilshan (1), Pabasara Waduge (6) and Pasindu Sooriyabandara (3) then followed as their poor shot selection made them throw their wickets away.  

Moors failed to soak up the pressure with wickets falling at regular intervals, and the scoreboard read 4-11 in just 4 overs. However, when the chips were down Chathuranga de Silva coming in at No.5 went on to score a fighting 61 runs off 34 deliveries including 3 boundaries and 5 sixes to bring some respectability to their innings.

Chathuranga along with wicketkeeper batter Mohammed Shamaz added a crucial 85 run partnership for the fifth wicket to put their team in a somewhat comfortable position at the end of the first 10 overs.

However, their fighting partnership was brought to a close by a brilliant fielding effort from Lakshan Gamage which ended Chathuranga’s innings when he was run out in the 14th over. After their set batter was back in the pavilion, Moors never recovered and were bundled out for just 131 runs. Though Mohamed Shamaz battled till the end, he failed to get on top of the Army bowlers.

Suminda Lakshan was the pick of the bowlers claiming three wickets, while Yasoda Mendis and Lakshan Gamage shared two wickets each.

In reply, Army SC reached the target in just 16.4 overs, thanks to a brilliant 45 ball 53 runs from Dinesh Chandimal batting at the top of the order.

Army SC were off to a steady start with Chandimal and Ashan Randika stitching a 64-run partnership for the first wicket. Though Moors SC struck with two quick wickets, that of Ashan Randika (39) and Lakshan Edirisinghe (2), Army made sure there were no further hiccups as skipper Thisara Perera (19*) joined Chandimal and got the job done with 20 balls to spare.    

With this win Army SC booked their slot in the semi final.

Meanwhile, Saracens SC edged CCC by 5 wickets in a low scoring game to qualify for the semis.

Brief scores: 

At P Sara Oval (Army SC won by 7 wickets)

Moors SC: 131 (19.2) (Chathuranga de SIlva 61, Mohamed Shamaz 29, Suminda Lakshan 3-37)

Army SC: 132-4 (16.4) (Dinesh Chandimal 53*, Thisara Perera 19*, Chathuranga de Silva 1-26, Sandakan Pathirana 1-20) 

 At P. Sara Oval (Saracens won by 5 wickets)

CCC: 49/5 (7) (Ashan Priyanjan 23, Malsha Tharupathi 2/6) 

Saracens SC: 50/5 (6.1) (Vishwa Fernando 2/4)

Semi-finals on 4 June

Morning – BRC Vs Police SC

Evening – Army CC Vs Saracens SC

By Mustaq Sydeen