Two uncapped players in 18-man squad


Two uncapped players, paceman Matheesha Pathirana and batting all rounder Nuwanidu Fernando, have been named in the 18-member T20 squad yesterday ahead of the T-20 series against the touring Australians.  The three-match series begins on 7 June, at Khettarama (Colombo)

19-year-old prodigy Matheesha Pathirana, excelled for Chennai Super Kings in the recently concluded IPL, while the 22-year-old Nuwanidu Fernando excelled during the Sri Lanka Development squad tour of England recently.

Furthermore, the selectors have also included pacer Kasun Rajitha, who made an impact in the recently concluded two-Test series against Bangladesh which Sri Lanka clinched 1-0.

The selectors have also recalled Pathum Nissanka to the squad after he missed the recent series against Bangladesh due to a back injury which he suffered during the two-Test series against India last March.

Sources added that another rookie, Nuwan Thushara, has also been added to the squad after he suffered an injury during the T-20 series against Australia last February.

However, the national selectors have not included pacers Binura Fernando and Lahiru Kumara in the squad as they are both yet to recover from injury.

In the meantime, batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who had in the recent past failed to prove his fitness levels, has also been recalled by the selectors for the series against world champions Australia. He was par excellent during the recently concluded IPL for Punjab Kings.

The squad will commence training from today.

Probable T-20 squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt), Dhanushka Gunathilake, Pathum NIssanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Dushmantha Chameera, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Kasun Rajitha, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lakshan Sandakan and Lahiru Madusanka