President appoints Commission of Inquiry


President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed a Commission of Inquiry to investigate and report on the incidents of arson, looting, murders, and all types of damage to property and loss of life in several parts of the country between 31 March and 15 May.

The Commission of Inquiry is headed by Supreme Court Justice, President’s Counsel B.P. Aluvihare. Retired Senior Deputy Inspector General of Police S.M. Wickremasinghe and Additional Chief Assessor N.A.S. Wasantha Kumara are the other members of the Commission.

Additional Secretary to the President Buwaneka Herath has been appointed as the Secretary to the Commission.

They received their Letters of Appointment from President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo, yesterday (1).

Meanwhile, the tenure of the Presidential Task Force on One Country, One Law was extended by 3 weeks through an Extraordinary Gazette.