SLC ExCo decide to increase annual grants


The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Executive Committee has decided that the Annual Tournament Grant given to Major Clubs to compete in the board conducted Major Club Tournament across all formats will be increased by another LKR 2.5 million per club, effective from the current year. The decision was taken at a meeting held on the 24 May.

With this increase, each club will receive an annual grant of LKR 27.5 million to be utilized during the ongoing Major Club season. The increase was affected taking into consideration the current economic climate in the country.

Accordingly, SLC will invest a total of LKR 715 million as ‘Tournament Grants’ for the Major Clubs during this year.

 Also, a decision was taken to grant LKR 5 million each to 9 Major Clubs, who have their own grounds.

The grant is aimed at helping those clubs to maintain and enhance their grounds and infrastructure. 

A decision was also taken to make an outright grant of LKR 20 million, in addition to the LKR 40 million given to Colts Cricket Club for the construction of a new Clubhouse and a pavilion. The two SLC-owned Bungalows at the Surrey Village Cricket Ground, Maggona, will also be renovated. Once renovated, the facility will be used to provide accommodation for club teams.

SLC will also conduct an Under-19 Youth League, as part of its move toward building a core group of young players for the next Under-19 World Cup and beyond.

The inaugural tournament to be conducted from 19 to 28 June in Kandy will consist of 5 teams, namely, Colombo–South, Colombo-North, Galle, Kandy, and Dambulla.

A squad will consist of 13 players plus 2 standby players selected by the Junior Selectors. The 50 over format tournament with a total of 11 matches will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Asgiriya Cricket Stadium.

A decision was also taken to conduct a Women’s T20 Invitational Tournament for Division 1 Clubs and Major Clubs during the ongoing year.

Accordingly, 06 ‘Division 01’ Clubs and 05 ‘Major Clubs’ will take part in the tournament, which is expected to be played in June 2022. The move is aimed at strengthening women’s cricket in Sri Lanka.