Two SLPP MPs further remanded


Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MPs Sanath Nishantha and Milan Jayathilake and four suspects who were arrested for attacking GotaGoGama and MynaGoGama peaceful protests in Colombo on 9 May, were further remanded until 1 June by Colombo Fort Magistrate Thilina Gamage.

The Magistrate ordered IGP Chandana Wickramaratne to provide reasons for not implementing instructions given by the Attorney General to transfer Western Province SDIG Deshabandu Thennakoon. If the Police failed to do so, he would issue an order with regard to the matter at a future date, the Magistrate said.

The Magistrate further said according to a photograph submitted to Court, it can be observed that SDIG Tennakoon was engaged in a cordial discussion with MP Nishantha, who entered GotaGoGama, without giving any orders.

He expressed shock on how the CID operates in a way that damages public trust by not following instructions of the Attorney General with regard to SDIG Tennakoon.

Meanwhile, two men and a woman were produced at an identification parade, but were not identified and were granted bail by the Magistrate.

By Hansi Nanayakkara