SLFP members to face disciplinary action


Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) members who accepted ministerial portfolios in the Government will face disciplinary action.

Vice Chairman of the Party, Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa said the SLFP’s Central Committee will meet to decide on the matter.

He said SLFP MPs Nimal Siripala de Silva and Mahinda Amaraweera were sworn in as Ministers of Ports, Shipping, and Aviation and Agriculture, Forest Resources, and Wildlife, in defiance of the SLFP Central Committee’s decision.

“The Central Committee will meet this week to take a decision on this. What de Silva and Amaraweera did was in violation of the Central Committee’s decision,” he said.

Prof. Piyadasa added that the SLFP Central Committee unanimously decided to support all constructive measures taken by the Government to resolve the country’s economic crisis, without accepting ministerial portfolios.

He added that if any party member disregards this decision, the Central Committee will be forced to take disciplinary action against them.

Meanwhile, the main opposition Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) has also said the party will take disciplinary action against Ministers Harin Fernando and Manusha Nanayakkara for accepting portfolios in the newly-appointed Cabinet.

By Thameenah Razeek